Teresa Rezansoff - President

Teresa Rezansoff is BCSTA President and has served on the BCSTA Board of Directors leading many committees and task forces.  She represents BCSTA on the BC Teachers’ Council.  Through her involvement with the Canadian School Board Association, she leads a National Committee on Student Health and Wellness.

Chair of SD51 (Boundary) Board of Education, she was first elected as trustee in 1999 and is a proud resident of Grand Forks, BC.

Teresa is the mother of four adult children and was an active member of elementary and secondary school Parent Advisory Councils for many years.

As a leader, Teresa is dedicated to fostering respectful dialogues.

(250) 442-8258
Gordon Swan - Vice-President

A school trustee with the Nicola-Similkameen Board of Education, Gordon served many years on the BC Public School Employers’ Association board. During his term as its vice-chair, the Board achieved its first negotiated collective agreement with the BC Teachers’ Federation. Gordon also served over 10 years as a BCSTA Provincial Councillor. Gordon says, "No matter how we slice the education pie, if the students, who are our future, are not at the forefront of our discussion, then the rest is meaningless. At the end of the day it comes down to the students and it always will. Our deliberations should always be about the students, and what’s in their best interests for a brighter future."

(250) 378-5161
Alan Chell - Director

Alan Chell is a trustee from SD19 (Revelstoke). He is an honorary life member of BCSTA and has a great deal of respect for the positive advocacy work of the Association.

Alan was previously on the BCPSEA Board for a number of years and is currently in his 31th year as a trustee in Revelstoke. Alan is currently Vice Chair of the PEBT and Chair of the Revelstoke Credit Union.

Alan and his wife Linda enjoy their blended family of four adult children and spend a lot of their time with their four grandchildren.

(250) 837-2101
Stephanie Higginson - Director

Stephanie Higginson is a first term trustee in SD68 (Nanaimo/Ladysmith) where she is Vice Chairperson of the Board and Chair of the Education Committee. Stephanie is excited to bring her love for public education and advocacy to the BCSTA Board of Directors. Stephanie is a former high school teacher and educational researcher with an MA in Educational Studies. Her areas of interest in education are vast and broad. They include but are not limited to issues of equity in education, collaborative inquiry in teacher professional development, issues surrounding rural education in BC and nature based education.

Stephanie and her family live outside of Nanaimo where they operate a small farm and maple syrup production business. Stephanie’s passion for public education is deeply personal as she is mom to two young school aged boys who are just beginning their educational journey in BC’s public schools.

(250) 722-3222
Gloria Jackson - Director

Gloria Jackson is a fourth term elected trustee for School District #28, Quesnel, and presently her board’s vice-chair. She is a First Nations status member of the Lhatko Dene Nation in Quesnel and has been a member of the BCSTA Aboriginal Education committee for the last 3 years. Gloria has represented her Board on Finance, Education, Aboriginal Education, BCPSEA, Provincial Council, Human Resources, District Parent Advisory Council and plenty of Ad Hoc committees. She has been an active member of the BCSTA Northern Interior Branch, and has two daughters, as well as a granddaughter who will enter the public school system in a few short years. Gloria has a vision for every student in this Province:  “Success - because we can expect nothing less”.

(250) 992-8802
Donna Sargent - Director

Donna has been a trustee with the SD38 (Richmond) for thirteen years and she is pleased to join the BCSTA Board of Directors for a second term. Donna is a strong believer in democratically-elected Boards of Education who are accountable to their community and who bring the voice of the community to the table.

Donna is the BCSTA Aboriginal Committee Board Liaison, has been the Metro Branch Chair for the last three years, has been SD38 Chair for the last four years, and has been the ELL Consortium Chair for the last four years.

(604) 668-6000
Christine Younghusband - Director

Christine Younghusband is a second-term trustee with the SD46 (Sunshine Coast) Board of Education and honoured to be serving for a third year as BCSTA Director. She is the SD46 Education Committee Chair, served on the BCSTA Education Committee, and represented BCSTA on the Standing Committee on Provincial Curriculum. For 20 years, Christine has been an advocate of BC public education as a teacher, parent, and school trustee. Currently, she is an independent educational consultant, doctoral student at SFU in educational leadership, and member of the Math K-9 Curriculum Development Team. Christine is a proud mom of her daughter Zoe, been together with her husband Randy for 25-years, and loves living on the Sunshine Coast.

(604) 886-8811
Mike Roberts - CEO

Mike Roberts is BCSTA’s Chief Executive Officer. As CEO, Mike is responsible to the BCSTA Board of Directors for the overall staff operations of the organization. He provides direct support to BCSTA's President as well as Boards of Education. Mike has more than thirty years of experience in the education sector and has an extensive background in teaching, administration, labour relations and all levels of government including local school district, employers’ association and Ministry of Education work.


Printer-friendly version